×
Today, Friday January 10th, we will see the first major lunar eclipse of the decade

Today, Friday January 10th, we will see the first major lunar eclipse of the decade

This rare event, where a full moon AND a lunar eclipse are happening at the same time, can be viewed in the sky or online January 10th

On today, January 10th, the moon will pass behind the Earth, with respect to the sun, dipping through the outermost edge of our planet's shadow. Scientists call this event a penumbral lunar eclipse.

The eclipse will be visible mostly in the Eastern Hemisphere of the planet, so if you're in countries in Europe, Africa and much of Asia, you'll be in prime viewing position to witness. It will begin at 12:07 p.m. EST (1707 GMT), peak at 2:10 p.m. EST (1910 GMT) and end at 4:12 p.m. EST (2112 GMT).  However, if you're like me and stuck in boring ol' North America, fret not! Many esteemed scientific institutions are livestreaming the event. 

 

Image credit: Fred Espenak/NASA

 

 

The stand-out eclipse webcast to watch will be from the Slooh online observatory. They are a network of telescopes positioned around the world, preventing cloud cover from obscuring the view.

According to Slooh, "our team of experts will discuss what makes this type of lunar eclipse the most subtle of all eclipses - difficult to see with naked eyes, but visible using Slooh's telescopes as we watch the moon darken slightly as it passes into Earth's outer penumbral shadow."

The broadcast runs from 2:30 p.m. EST (1930 GMT) to 4:15 p.m. EST (2115 GMT). Their livestream is below. 

 



 

Recommended for you